Sunday Meal Plan

fullsizeoutput_19f7.jpeg

Since I’m doing this at home anyway, the hubby has convinced me to start sharing it on the blog. It’s a busy week and also the first week of tapering for our Half Ironman triathlon coming up on April 6th. I’m not one of those people who is super annoyed by a taper. By the time I get there, I’m typically beyond ready for the lighter workout load. So, without further ado, our meal plan for the week.

I should start off this post by saying that we are BIG leftover people, and prefer to have a meal that will allow us to take leftovers for lunch for the following day(s).

Breakfast for the week: Apple Cinnamon Pressure Cooker Steel Cut Oats by A Couple Cooks. I make a half-batch of this and it’ll make 5 or so breakfast packages that the hubby and I can alternate in taking to work. I use 2 apples and usually top it with blueberries. It reheats well at work after a couple minutes in the microwave. The other days, we’ll either eat at home or likely eat protein bars (trying to get out of this habit).

Sunday: Sheet Pan Pasta Bake with Chicken and Kale by Two Peas & Their Pod. This is an easy meal that makes quite a bit of leftovers with only two of us eating. This will get us a couple days of lunches and/or a meal for the hubby later on Tuesday. Recipe note: I use plain Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream.

Monday: Korean Chicken Bowls with Coconut Rice by How Sweet Eats. A new recipe for us.
** Prep Tip: Thaw and marinate chicken ahead of time

Tuesday: Girls’ Night Out at a local Greek restaurant for me. Leftovers for the hubby.

Wednesday: Cauliflower Rice Veggie Bowls by What’s Gaby Cooking. We ate this last week and have some leftover beans. Will use them up with this recipe and our “home” burrito bowls tomorrow.
** Prep Tip: Make the Instant Pot beans ahead of time OR set the pot up with the automatic timer to cook the beans right before you get home.

Thursday: Quick, non-recipe worthy vegetarian burrito bowls at home. I have a Stella and Dot party at 6pm at a friend’s house, but I don’t think it will involve dinner. Will make these for us either using the last of the leftover black beans from above or using an extra can I stashed in the pantry. Always with extra avocado though 🙂

Friday: Sweet Potato Southwestern Quinoa Bowl by What’s Gaby Cooking. We have seriously eaten this on repeat for the last 4-5 months. Healthy. Good. Filling. It has a relatively long ingredient list, but it’s not as daunting to make as it seems. I can get it all done in the time the sweet potatoes are roasting. Also, as an FYI: a little goes a long way on the dressing.
** Prep Tip: You could roast the sweet potatoes ahead of time. Also could sub bagged, pre-washed kale which would speed up the preparation process. I believe they sell pre-cooked quinoa as well, but it’s so quick to make (Mine is done in 11-12 minutes).

Saturday: Roasted Cauliflower and Sweet Potato Tacos by Greens & Chocolate. We’ve eaten these on repeat too. I have half a cabbage leftover from making homemade Runzas before St. Patrick’s Day I plan on using instead of the coleslaw mix.
** Prep Tip: Could chop the veggies ahead (or roast ahead and reheat, if desired)

Enjoy!

Leave a comment