Chocolate Chip Cookie Bake-Off: Doughmesstic vs. NYT

doughmesstic vs. N

Hope you’re having a happy hump day… I brought cookies!

A little later than promised, but I’m on to my next installment of our chocolate chip cookie bake-off. In case you’re curious, the original rules can be found here.

As I’ve eluded, the hubbs is convinced that we’re never going to find a recipe that “beats” the NYT recipe we’ve been carrying through this whole ordeal. It definitely is a great cookie! Maybe it’s my inability to be satisfied with a recipe. Maybe it’s only the fact that he wants it to “win,” but I’m definitely hoping we will find a recipe that  beats it. With that spirit in mind, I pulled out a recipe for this round with a few more stops – Doughmesstic’s My Go To Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe. Browned butter + dark brown sugar. I was hoping the flavor of these would par up to the flavor that we keep coming back to in the NYT recipe.

doughmesstic chocolate chip cookies after baking

I found Susan’s recipe to be really easy to make. If you have never browned butter, just keep an eye on it. It will seem like it is taking forever to start changing color, but once it does, it is really easy to go from browned butter to burnt butter. The dough for these cookies was a little different in texture. Almost a little more greasy, although it does start with melted rather than just softened butter. Nonetheless, it was really easy to work with, and I didn’t have any trouble with sticky dough when forming cookie dough balls. I’ve heard that melting the butter helps make for a chewier cookie, and the centers of these were definitely soft (just the way I like them). You can even tell the middle of these cookies is soft in the photos. I’ll admit, I didn’t chop the chocolate as she indicates, but these are definitely a solid cookie!

doughmesstic chocolate chip cookies

So which one wins… I feel like a broken record. It’s still the NYT recipe for both of us, although it serious took me ~24 hours to decide between these two recipes. There is just something about the NYT recipe that tastes like a “chocolate chip cookie,” and I’m not quite sure I can put my finger on it. One thing is for sure, the Doughmesstic recipe is a solid choice if I don’t have 24 hrs+ to wait for the NYT cookies. Until next month. Enjoy!

Cookies Already Baked:

New York Times Chocolate Chip Cookies
Levain Bakery Copycat Chocolate Chip Cookies
Baking Illustrated Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
Neiman Marcus Chocolate Chip Cookies
Alice’s The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Cookies To Bake:
Alton Brown’s The Chewy
My Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies from Eat, Live, Run
David Lebovitz’s Salted Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Flour Bakery Chocolate Chip Cookies
Bouchon Bakery’s Chocolate Chip Cookies
Top Chef: Just Desserts Chocolate Chip Cookie

So, I’m thinking the current list will take us through November. Any additional recipes I’m missing?

(Printable Recipe)

Doughmesstic’s My Go To Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe
From Doughmesstic

Ingredients:
12 Tbsp. browned salted butter
1/3 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar
2/3 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
2 cups plus 2 Tbsp. all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
12 oz. chocolate chips (1 pkg), mixed semi-sweet and milk chocolate
sea salt for topping

To brown butter, melt butter in light colored medium saucepan over medium heat. Continue to cook. The butter will foam first and then browned specks will start to form at the bottom of the pan and the color will start to appear more brown than yellow. Remove and let cool slightly.

Add the sugars to the butter and mix well. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each egg. Add the vanilla and mix thoroughly. Combine the dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Add to the dough, mixing until just combined. Mix in the chocolate and place the dough in the refrigerator for about 15 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Roll the dough into balls about the size of a golf ball and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper or a silpat. Sprinkle with sea salt if desired. Bake for 13-15 minutes or until the cookies just start turning golden brown on the edges (the middle will still be soft).

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Bake-Off: Doughmesstic vs. NYT

  1. I accidently added some baking powder & thought I had ruined them but the cookies baked up a little higher which I liked!! Excellent recipe!!!!

Leave a comment