Friday Favorites

Friday… we meet again. It’s going to be quite the weekend around the country. The Derby. Cinco de Mayo. College graduations. Congratulations to all the new pharmacists graduating from the University of Nebraska this weekend. Take tons of pictures and savor it!

My plans involve work, although we’re hoping to mix some fun in there as well. The hubbs is crazy excited for Iron Man 3, so I’m sure we’ll be hitting the movie theater at some point. Truthfully,  I really like the Iron Man series as well. The first movie of the series really surprised me (in a good way!), so I’ll admit I’m excited too. I am on call this week, so I’m just hoping I don’t get called in to the hospital in the middle of the movie! We also just bought a Living Social deal for a Mexican beer festival (with tastings) for this weekend. Should be fun!

On some sad news, I broke one of my stoneware pans while baking the cookies for the chocolate chip cookie bake-off yesterday morning. To add insult to injury, I broke it over my toe. Ouch! Not to worry, I was able to finish baking the chocolate chip cookies, and am hoping to bring the bake-off to you tomorrow. Enjoy your weekend!

Favorite Kitchen Time Saver. The Magic Corn Trick seen on Holm Family Cookbook. An easy way to clean corn? Count me in. I love fresh corn on the cob in the summer, but I despise cleaning it. That was always our job as kids. Mom would make us do it outside because of the mess. What a pain. Not to mention if you happened to find one of those worms… Gross!

Favorite Copycat Chicken. Coconut Crunch Chicken Strips by The Cozy Apron. These look just like an appetizer at one of our favorite restaurants in town. I may even break my no frying at home rule for these, but I wonder if they would be okay baked?

Post image for A Cozy Appetizer: Coconut Crunch Chicken Strips, And Letting Love Be The Inspiring Guide

Favorite Dessert. Mexican Brownie Bottom Cheesecake by Perry’s Plate. I don’t make enough cheesecake around here. Thinking I need to fix that problem.

Favorite Stair Idea. Wooden stairs seen on Girl in Air. This post is actually for the photo strip on the wall, but I am loving these stairs. I am so over the carpet in our house. We’ve been toying with replacing it all but have no idea what to do with our stairs. I could definitely live with these.

family-pic-wall

Favorite Cookies. Salted Caramel Toffee Coconut Macaroons by Two Peas & Their Pod. Not sure these need an introduction other than their name. Yum!

Recipe for Salted Caramel Toffee Coconut Macaroons on twopeasandtheirpod.com Dipped in chocolate too!

Favorite Fresh Dinner Idea. Jalapeno Cornbread and Black Bean Panzanella by Eats Well with Others. Haven’t made this yet, but it’s on the menu for this week. Loving it.

IMG_7129

Favorite sandals. Women’s Seafish Thong Sandal by Sperry’s. My favorite brown sandals bit the dust towards the end of last summer (after several summers of abuse), and I have had the hardest time finding anything I like this year for sandals. You know all the ones that are so thin that  you might as well not even have shoes on. It’s either that or sandals that look like I’ve added several decades. I’m not 12 and I’m not 65 people! I finally ran across these the other weekend at the mall, and I am still loving them a couple weeks later. Time for some new shoes I think!

Women's Seafish Thong Sandal

Favorite Make-ahead Breakfast. Cinnamon Quinoa Bake by Gabby’s Gluten-Free. I’m thinking this will be yummy for breakfast while working over the weekend!

DSC_0064_532edit1

One thought on “Friday Favorites

  1. I’m so excited for that corn cleaning trick! I always end up stringy meals whenever I make corn. 🙂 Thanks so much for featuring my post girl! and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you make it through all of Iron Man 3!

Leave a Reply

