Frozen Biscoff Pie

IMG_4865

3.14. It’s Pi Day! And yes, I am enough of a nerd to bring a pie today. You are talking to the girl who still carries around her TI-89 at work (Much to the dismay of my medical teams. I get a lot of crap for it, but how else are you suppose to use the natural log function!).  I’m only sad I wasn’t paying much attention last year (3.1415 for 3/14/15)…

IMG_4859

This pie. This is one of those recipes I wouldn’t really need a reason to make. A true pie, complete with pie crust, still scares me enough that it’s only something I would think to attempt for celebrations/holidays. But combine Biscoff with anything, and I’m on board. In all honesty, I’m truly making this to take to work today for our Pi Day at work, but I can tell you the hubbs begged me to make two so he could have a piece 🙂

I’ve actually made this pie a few times. It’s a recipe from Crazy for Crust, and it’s one of the easiest desserts I’ve made. Graham cracker crust, baked for a few minutes, mix just 3 ingredients together, top, and freeze. Done. You probably could start with a pre-made graham cracker crust if you wanted, although I do think adding Biscoff into the crust is a stroke of genius.

IMG_4863

A few tips. The crust can end up a little crumbly, so be sure to pack it into the pan. There is quite a bit of crust mixture, so I’ve found using a deep-dish pie pan works best. When mixing the filling, be sure to have the ingredients ready to go as it is easier to work quick. Also, be careful spreading out the filling as not to disturb the crust. It is pliable enough it would probably spread out into the pie on its own if you left it. Lastly, the extra whipped topping will spread further if you chill the filling a bit before adding it. I did not in the pies above, so I just have a little smaller circle.

Ahh… frozen desserts. Now that it’s light longer, I promise summer is coming! Enjoy!

(Printable Recipe)

Frozen Biscoff Pie
From Crazy for Crust

Ingredients:
For the Crust:
2 oz. white chocolate
4 Tbsp. butter
2 Tbsp. Biscoff
2 cups graham cracker crumbs

For the Filling:
1/2 cup Biscoff
1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk
8 oz. whipped topping, divided

For the Topping Swirl:
1 oz. white chocolate
1 Tbsp. Biscoff

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Melt the butter in the microwave. Then add the white chocolate and Biscoff, stirring ever 15 seconds, until melted and well blended. Stir in graham cracker crumbs. Press into a 9″ pie pan. Bake for 8 minutes and cool completely before filling.

Place 1/2 cup Biscoff in a microwave-safe bowl. Have ingredients measured and ready to go. Heat for 20 seconds to allow it to soften.Reserve 1/2 cup whipped topping. Stir in sweetened condensed milk. Fold the remaining whipped topping into the Biscoff-sweetened condensed milk mixture. If it doesn’t seem to be mixing well, you can use a hand mixer here. Pour into the prepared crust. Top with reserved whipped topping. It may not reach all the way to the edges. Chill the pie first if you’d like it to cover more area.

Melt white chocolate and Biscoff together in a small microwave-safe bowl. Pour into a sealable sandwich bag and snip one corner. Pipe as desired on the top of the pie. Freeze pie for at least 4 hours or for overnight before slicing.

Leave a Reply

