Friday Favorites

Where has the time gone? Although I’ve worked 6 of the last 7 days, there is no way it’s Friday, not that I’m complaining about that either. I’m off work this weekend.

The hubbs and I actually have a busy weekend planned ahead of us. Tomorrow, I’m running my second ever Warrior Dash. To race it or not to race it is the question. My first Warrior Dash, we ran it more for fun. In fact, I tend to be one of those runners that ends up running the same mile times whether I run 1 mile or 10. I’m thinking it may be time to try and gut out a decent 5K time… On top of that, we’re hosting a low-key BBQ here on Saturday night and have tentative brunch plans for Sunday. Whew… I’m guessing our weekend will be over before we know it.

My plans for the day include swimming (triathlon training) and cleaning house. I’m truthfully not super excited about either one. Wishing I could enlist some friends to come with (especially for the swim!). Well, without further ado, I bring you my Friday Favorites – and a couple weeks worth at that 🙂

Favorite Summertime Dinner. Chicken and Summer Vegetable Tostadas from Cooking Light. This is screaming summer, and I’m sure you could use a similar technique with an outdoor grill instead of the broiler.

Chicken & Summer Vegetable Tostadas Recipe

Favorite Hostess Gift. Wine wrapped in a kitchen towel seen on Viva Amore. Packaging that you can actually use (and it’s super cute too!).

Favorite Vegetarian Meal Idea. Black Bean and Spinach Enchiladas by The Garden Grazer. Looks so good. The link even contains freezing instructions if you want to make a bunch and save them for later!

Favorite Berry Dessert. Strawberry Shortcake with White Chocolate Whipped Cream by That Skinny Chick Can Bake. Now that berries are everywhere, I have been craving strawberry shortcakes like no other. I’m thinking possible dessert for the BBQ?

Favorite Book. Mazerunner by James Dashner. My husband raved about this book for several months. I’m about halfway through it and am loving it so far.

Favorite DIY Spring/Summer Decor. DIY Spring Wreath by Taylor Made. I have quite a few home pieces that I change out for the seasons, and I have this big gap where I don’t have many things for the time period between Easter and fall. This is a wreath I think I could actually make.

Favorite Bundt. Vanilla Bean Malt Bundt Cake from Tracey’s Culinary Adventures. Truthfully, I don’t make many bundts, but the I love most things with malt flavors.

Vanilla Bean Malt Bundt Cake

Favorite sports moment. Jack Hoffman scoring a touchdown in the Nebraska Spring Game (photo source Brynn Anderson/The World Herald). The football team set it up so that this 7-year old cancer patient could score the final touchdown. Makes me proud to still call myself a Nebraskan. GBR!

article photo

Favorite Margarita. Kicked-up Avocado Margarita from Cookin’ Canuck. I’ve seen lots of variations on margaritas, but avocado is a new one.  I am definitely interested enough to want to try it!

Kicked-Up Avocado Margarita Recipe for Cinco de Mayo by Cookin' Canuck #recipe #avocado #cincodemayo

Favorite Cookies. Brown Butter Salted Caramel Snickerdoodles from Two Peas & Their Pod. My husband was looking over my shoulder when I saw this recipe, and said, “Those contain like 3 of your favorite things. They need to happen. Soon.” His words not mine 🙂

Brown-Butter-Salted-Caramel-Snickerdoodles-2

Favorite weather phenomenon.  Blizznado in Nebraska, picture from bswaney23 on Instagram. Tornado warnings and winter storm warnings in the same night. Counties apart. Oh Nebraska, I miss some things, but I definitely don’t miss your weather!

One thought on “Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

