Chicken Tamale Pie

chicken tamale pie whole

3.14. It’s Pi Day!

I am so excited to share this recipe with you. First of all, it is comfort food in its finest. Comfort food that will not break your diet. What’s not to love? Second, I actually have a “pi” for Pi Day! It is rare that I am aware of a foodie holiday early enough that I can have a recipe prepared in time to post. I know this makes me a little bit of a nerd (and my husband would definitely agree), but I promised myself I would find something to share for Pi Day. Mine may not be of the sweet variety, but I would definitely say it counts!

As I eluded to above, this meal is definitely warm, filling, and satisfying. First, you prepare a “cornbread” crust and layer that with enchilada sauce, shredded chicken, and cheese. While it sounds like a diet bust, as long as you control the amount of cheese, none of the ingredients are too unhealthy. Served with a green salad or other veggie on the side, it makes a pretty balanced meal.

chicken tamale pie close

chicken tamale pie serving

The recipe is originally from Pinch of Yum. I updated it a little for us, mostly making the cornbread crust from scratch. I tend not to keep baking mixes in my pantry, and I promise you probably already have most of the individual ingredients to make the cornbread on hand anyway. One thing to note, don’t expect the crust to be of the same texture as normal cornbread by itself. With the creamed corn and being baked underneath the chicken mixture, the cornbread crust comes out “wetter” than it were if it were cornbread alone. Different, but still delicious in my opinion.

If you’re still looking for dinner plans, join me in celebrating Pi Day and try this out. Enjoy!

(Printable Recipe)

Chicken Tamale Pie
Adapted from Pinch of Yum

Ingredients:
1/3 cup fat free milk (I used almond milk. It’s all I had)
1 egg
1-1/2 Tbsp. homemade taco seasoning (or a packet, but try making it at home), divided
1/4 tsp. dried red pepper flakes
1 (14.75 oz) can cream-style corn
2/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup yellow cornmeal
3 Tbsp. sugar
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
2 Tbsp. canola oil
1 (7 oz) can chopped green chiles
1 (10 oz) can red enchilada sauce
2 cups shredded cooked chicken breast
3/4 cup shredded cheese (Mexican blend, Monterey Jack, cheddar, or whatever you have)
cilantro, chopped for topping

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Spray a 9-inch pie plate with nonstick spray. Set aside.

Combine the first 12 ingredients (milk through the green chiles) in a medium sized mixing bowl, using only 1/2 tablespoon of the taco seasoning. Stir only until just barely combined. Some pieces of flour/cornmeal may remain. Transfer the mixture to the prepared pie plate. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until set, starting to brown on the edges, and a toothpick inserted just comes out clean. Do not let it bake too long, as it will continue to bake once topped with the chicken mixture.

While the cornbread is baking, combine the chicken with the remaining 1 tablespoon of taco seasoning. When the cornbread is finished baking, pierce all over the surface with a fork. Pour the enchilada sauce over the cornbread. Top with the chicken and the cheese. Bake for about 15 minutes or until the cheese melts and the dish is bubbly. Remove from the oven and let stand for 5 minutes. Top with cilantro if desired.

Leave a Reply

