Black Bean and Tomato Soup

black bean and tomato soup with bread

I feel like I have to share a quick little story that precedes this cookbook. Back in October, I ran a half-marathon with a couple of my college girlfriends, and we all stayed at one of the girl’s apartment (it was kind of like the old time sleepovers, lots of fun!). Anyway, the girl we were staying with end up giving me a cookbook she had laying around (this Skinny Bitch cookbook) stating that she never uses it anyway. Awesome! I was pretty excited about checking out the new recipes and ended up paging through it in the airport on the way home. Given the title, I tried to keep the book covered up pretty well but apparently did not do it well enough as one of the ladies sitting beside me at the terminal commented on the “language” of my book. Oops…

“Language” aside, this is a really interesting book. While I do not follow a vegan or vegetarian diet, we do eat meals that fall into each of those categories with some regularity. In fact, I knew as soon as I paged through the soups that this section alone would be reason enough to own this book. When I got home, I actually gave it to my husband to page through and pick out a recipe. He actually dove right into the soup section as well, so we must have been on the same page! Black bean and tomato soup is was.

black bean and tomato soup

The beauty of this soup is it’s simplicity. It is not my first black bean-related soup on this blog, but has it’s own advantages. The first is that this is absolutely weeknight friendly. It comes together really quick, and allows you to prep anything else you may be doing during that 15 minute simmer time. One of the others is that the 2 cans of beans in here actually give this soup some staying power. I love soup, but I hate it when I’ve brought a vegetable-based soup for lunch at work and I end up hungry 2 hours later. As far as the recipe goes, I followed it almost exactly, swapping only small things that I had in my kitchen. The soup itself is absolutely something we will make again, so thanks for the new cookbook Kelcey! I’ll try to keep the title a little more conspicuous next time 🙂 Enjoy!

(Printable Recipe)

Black Bean and Tomato Soup
Adapted slightly from Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook

Ingredients:
1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 large red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. cumin
2 (15 oz) cans low-sodium black beans, drained and rinsed
1 (28 oz) can stewed tomatoes
1/2 cup fresh or frozen corn
3 cups low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
1 cup water
1 tsp. dried oregano
1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
juice of 1/2 lime (1-2 tablespoons)
1/2 tsp. salt
1 Tbsp. green onions, chopped
1 Tbsp. cilantro, chopped

Heat the oil in a large stockpot or Dutch oven over medium heat. Add the onion and saute for 3 to 4 minutes or until it starts to soften. Add the garlic and red bell pepper and saute another 30 seconds. Add the chili powder and cumin and stir to combine. Add the black beans, tomatoes, corn, broth, water, oregano, red pepper flakes, and Worcestershire sauce. Bring to a simmer. Reduce the heat and continue to simmer for about 15 minutes.

Transfer half the soup to a blender or food processor, let cool slightly. Blend until smooth. Add this back to the remaining soup in the stockpot. Alternately, you can use an immersion blender in the stockpot (with all the soup in the pot) and blend until about 1/2 of the vegetable pieces have been pureed. With the soup back in the stockpot, add the lime juice and sale. Stir and simmer for about 5 more minutes. Garnish with the green onion and cilantro.

Leave a Reply

