Week 17: Friday Favorites

So, I may have missed my mid-week post this week. I actually have quite the archive of recipes to get up here, it’s just finding a chance to sit down and put pen to paper (err… fingers to the keyboard?). But, since it’s Friday, that means it’s time for some Friday favorites!

I guess the big news around here is that the hubbs finally talked me into training for and competing in a triathlon with him. As of last night, we are both officially registered for a Half-Ironman triathlon in October. Yes, that is a 1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike, and 13.1 mile run, and there is still part of me that thinks this is crazy! I’ve been spending a lot of my free time this week looking up training schedules. The good news is we have plenty of time to train. The bad news – I hate the freestyle. I actually use to swim locally, but the freestyle was never my thing. I was more of a backstroke/breaststroke gal which brings me back to the good news. I have plenty of time to train.

Not a lot of plans here for the weekend. We’re actually both working Friday-Sunday. I’m noticing that this is very dessert heavy this week. Maybe I’m already looking forward to all the training? 🙂 Hope you have something great in the works for your weekend! Enjoy!

Favorite Caramelized Desert. Caramel Stuffed Krispie Bars by Cookies & Cups. In college, my roommates and I used to make rice krispies with some frequency. These? These are like rice krispies on steroids. I’d eat almost anything covered in caramel.

Caramel Stuffed Krispie Bars | Cookies and Cups

Favorite Home Update. Outdoor Entry by Love Your Room. I love how simply adding pavers along the concrete updates this entry. This is a DIY home project I may actually be able to handle.

Favorite Green Food. Avocado Egg Rolls with Chipotle Ranch Dipping Sauce by Big Flavors from a Tiny Kitchen. This may be the green food I serve for St. Patrick’s Day, although I’m not sure I need to make up an excuse to make these.

Favorite Easter Candy Bake. Peeps Show S’mores Bars by Bake at 350. I am and have always been a Peeps lover, thus I usually consume them before I have a chance to bake with them. Looks like I may need to stock up so I’ll have leftovers to make these!

Favorite Flooring. Wood Grain Tile Bathroom by A Home In College Hill. We have been wanting to re-do the flooring on the main level of our home for a couple months now. The big question has been tile or wood? I am loving the look of this tile!

IMG_5641

Favorite Furniture Makeover. Wicker Storage Basket Dresser Makeover by Art is Beauty. Oh if only I was a little crafty.

Favorite Easter Dessert. Carrot Cake Poke Cake by Something Swanky. I may actually be able to forgive the use of whipped cream as frosting on this cake. Looks so good!

Better Than #Easter... #Carrot #Cake #Poke Cake from www.somethingswanky.com | This is seriously SO yum!

Leave a Reply

