SRC: Pretzel Nutella Chunk Cookies

pretzel nutella chunk cookies

When I’m am thinking about recipes that will eventually make this way to the blog, I try to maintain a balance between meal recipes and desserts. Nonetheless, there is no hiding the fact that cookies are the first thing that brought me into the kitchen, so I was definitely excited find out that my blogger this month for SRC was Katrina from Baking and Boys.

I spent more than one day looking through all of Katrina’s recipes, but in the end, I could not get over one of the recipes right at the front of her blog. These pretzel Nutella chunk cookies. Really? I could have stopped right there on the name along. There was no way these wouldn’t be a hit at our house. Cookies are where it all started for me, and cookies are my final choice this month for SRC. That said, cookies weren’t the only recipe I saved when looking through Katrina’s recipes. Check out this wheat berry salad. I am hoping it will be lunch soon. As soon as I get a chance to make it

pretzel nutella chunk cookie dough

pretzel nutella chunk cookies with ice cream

The cookie dough came together really quickly, although my Nutella did not seem to freeze quite as hard as Katrina’s. I started trying to mix the chunks into the cookie dough like traditional chocolate chips, but the Nutella melted so quickly that it ended up being “swirled” throughout the batter. After that, I re-froze the Nutella and just stuck a few pieces in the top of the cookies just before putting them in the oven. So, in the end, half my Nutella ended up swirled into the cookies and half was in the more traditional “pieces.” I am sure there wasn’t a change in the final outcome of the cookies because we loved these! The hubbs has designated them the official a la mode cookies. Thanks for the great recipe Katrina. I am sure we’ll both be craving these again soon!

(Printable Recipe)

Pretzel Nutella Chunk Cookies
Adapted from Baking and Boys

Ingedients:
1 cup plus 1 Tbsp. cake flour
3/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp. bread flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. coarse salt
1 stick + 2 Tbsp. (or 10 Tbsp) butter, softened
1/2 cup + 1 Tbsp. sugar
1/2 cup  + 2 Tbsp. brown sugar, packed
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2-3/4 cup bite-sized pretzel pieces (broken up)
1/2 cup Nutella, divided

Line a pan or plate with waxed paper. Spread 1/4 cup of Nutella thinly over the paper. Place in the freezer until firm, at least 2 hours.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Place the butter and sugars in the bowl of a stand mixer. Beat on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add the egg, mix until incorporated. Mix in the vanilla. In a separate bowl, combine the flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Turn the mixer to low and add the flour. Stir until just incorporated. Add 1/4 cup of Nutella and stir until the batter appears marbled or swirled. Stir in the pretzel pieces.

Form the dough into tablespoon sized balls. Set on a baking sheet and press down on the balls of dough to flatten slightly. Remove the Nutella from the freezer. Working quickly, cut the Nutella into chucks. Place several chunks into the top of each ball of cookie dough. Return the Nutella to the freezer in between batches of cookies. Bake the cookies in the preheated oven for approximately 8-10 minutes or until the edges of the cookies are just set. Let cool on the pan for several minutes before removing to a cooling rack to cool completely (or enjoy slightly warm with ice cream).

13 thoughts on “SRC: Pretzel Nutella Chunk Cookies

  1. Great pick! Thanks so much for enjoying baking from my blog and yes, they are great cookies. I will say though that I, too, have problems with the Nutella chunks thawing so fast. I’m pretty sure once I carefully stirred it in to the dough, I kept the dough I hadn’t baked yet in the freezer. Ooh, and that does sound really good with ice cream!

  2. I have just recently started liking pretzels. This sounds like something fun to do with them if I get tired of eating them from the bag…and nutella is always a bonus. Just nutella on pretzels sounds delicious…bake them into cookies? Score!

Leave a Reply

