Cinnamon Streusel Pancakes

streusel pancakes

It’s Monday… I know you didn’t want to get out of bed this morning. Me either. I am not sure I’ll ever understand those people who are willing to jump out of their perfectly maneuvered blanket cocoon into the chilly darkness of the early morning, although on most mornings, I could use some of their enthusiasm!

While these aren’t an everyday type of breakfast, I could certainly roll myself out of bed most mornings for these. Maybe they’ll make your morning better as well? These cinnamon streusel pancakes have been on my “To Make” list since I saw them over a year ago on Maria’s blog Two Peas and Their Pod. For me, streusel is one of those things that doesn’t necessarily need a vehicle (read: cake, muffin, cooked fruit), so pile it on top of a pancake, and I am game.

The pancakes themselves come together pretty easily. The intent here is to make large pancakes (think 1 per serving). As written, the recipe states it should make 6 pancakes, but using the indicated amount of batter per pancake, my yield was 3. This wasn’t a big deal in our house, as I am only feeding the two of us, but if you are feeding a larger crowd, you may want to keep that in mind. As a note, I have taken to keeping powdered buttermilk in the pantry as we rarely keep real buttermilk in the house, although in a pinch you can always add a little lemon juice to regular milk and let it sit for a couple minutes.

streusel pancakes close

I will fully admit that I am usually a drench your pancakes/waffles in syrup type of gal, but with the streusel, these really only needed a touch of butter and syrup. The streusel that ends up on the bottom side of the pancake crisps up a little as it cooks and creates a great “crust” to the pancakes. These were definitely a hit, although I now we have a pancake divide at our house. These are my new favorite, but the hubbs is still a fan of the cinnamon roll pancakes. Guess we’ll have to keep testing 🙂

(Printable Recipe)

Cinnamon Streusel Pancakes
From Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 Tbsp. granulated sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
2 cups buttermilk
2 large eggs
1/4 cup canola oil
1 tsp. vanilla extract
non-stick cooking spray

Cinnamon Streusel:
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1 tsp. cinnamon
6 Tbsp. cold unsalted butter

For the streusel, in a medium bowl, combine the flour, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Mix well. Cut in the butter and mix with your hands or a fork until the mixture begins to hold together into crumbs. Set aside.

For the pancakes, in a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, eggs, oil, and vanilla. Pour the wet ingredients into the flour mixture. Stir until the mixture is just combined. It is okay if there are lumps or small pieces of flour.

Heat a griddle or large skillet to low-medium heat. Spray with nonstick cooking spray. Pour 1 cup of batter onto the pan. Top with approximately 2 tablespoons of streusel. Cook until the bubbles that pop stay “open” in the batter or until the underside is slightly brown. Flip the pancake over and top generously with streusel. Cook for another 2-3 minutes or until slightly brown on the other side. Continue for the remaining batter. Serve warm with butter and maple syrup.

One thought on “Cinnamon Streusel Pancakes

  1. I never really mind getting up, but I suspect that’s because I like breakfast so much! And with these pancakes on the menu…I might get up before sunrise just so I can eat them sooner!

Leave a Reply

