Week 14: Friday Favorites

Happy Friday! I hope you all had a fabulous Valentine’s Day if you were wanting to celebrate the holiday. We were pretty low key here since I worked yesterday, but that’s good sometimes too. We have a somewhat silly tradition of ordering a heart-shaped pizza on Valentine’s Day dating back to the year that we were engaged (and living in separate cities). The hubs actually surprised me with one last night with one (and some flowers) when I got home, and we finished that up with some white chocolate fondue with berries and rice krispie treats. Pretty good night in my book!

No big plans for the weekend on our end, although it sounds like the weather here is going to be beautiful. May have to find something to do outside! Hope you have a great weekend. I am apparently on a food kick, since many of these this week are food-related. Enjoy!

Favorite Girl Scout Cookie Rewind. Samoa Bundt Cake by Breakfast to Bed. This may be the most creative rewind of Samoa cookies that I’ve seen. The base of her recipe is a brown sugar cake marbled with a chocolate cake, although I think I’d go for just the brown sugar variety if I made it. Anyone want to help me eat this if I make it?

Favorite cheap bookshelf makeover. DIY Rustic Bookshelves by It’s Our Pinteresting Life. Yes, we are a bit nerdy and have a multitude of medically related books piled in the closet. I am sure they would look so much better (and possibly be used more) on something like this in our office.

Favorite Soup. Creamy Tomato Orzo Soup by Two Peas & Their Pod.  Regardless of the weather being great (highs in the 70’s), I am still loving soup for dinner. Imagine this paired with a grilled cheese?

creamy-tomato-orzo-soup2

Favorite Color Scheme. Aqua and Brown Bedroom on Better Homes & Gardens. I have been wanting to add some design and style to our extra bedroom. Right now it’s a functional room, but it is a bit of a hodgepodge of mismatched furniture and old college lamps. I don’t love all the elements in this bedroom, but I like the idea of the color scheme.

Media

Favorite Dessert Tip. How to Turn Cookie Dough into Frosting by Cupcake Project. Oh my gosh. I can’t even think about all the ways I could use this. Brownies. Cupcakes. Spoons. It may be dangerous.

Favorite Style. Turquoise and Yellow Summer Outfit from J’s Everyday Fashion. Love this outfit (and color combo), although I definitely wouldn’t need the cardigan down here in the summer.

Favorite Dinner Idea. Cajun Chicken Pasta on the Lighter Side by Skinnytaste.com. Cajun Chicken Pasta always looks so delicious, but the recipes are often loaded with ingredients like heavy cream (read: not healthy at all despite the veggies). This version has just over 300 calories per serving plus the Cajun seasoning that the hubs and I are loving. Sounds like dinner soon!

Leave a Reply

