Crockpot French Dip Sandwiches

french dip alone

I have been hearing about this recipe for months from my parents. Both of them. They make this with some regularity. Frequently enough that when I called for the recipe, my dad had it memorized. Not that it is too complicated, but still. My parents are not the only ones. I know I have seen recipes similar to this floating around on different blogs as well. Truthfully, I have no real reason to be so late to the french dip party. This is an easy recipe concept that requires almost no active time in the kitchen. Attractive? I think so. The biggest reason we had not made this sooner is probably just the lack of a beef roast (or any roast) in my freezer.

french dip plated closer side view

As I eluded to above, this recipe is as easy as they come. Prepping the crockpot is what I like to call a “dump and cook job.” There is a little more involved at the end, as the meat needs to be shredded/cut thinly, but even with that, this easily falls into a weeknight capable recipe. My parents like to use their bread-machine to make a fresh loaf of bread for the sandwiches, and I am sure that would be amazing. My only tip would be if you have a little extra time, making these ahead of time would allow you to skim some of the fat off the au jus after it cooled. The meat and remaining au jus could easily be rewarmed in the crockpot. Nonetheless, I did not do that when we made these, and we ate them just fine. 🙂

These were definitely a hit at our house. Guess a gal really ought to learn to listen to both of her parents? Enjoy!

(Printable Recipe)

Crockpot French Dip Sandwiches
Adapted from allrecipes.com

Ingredients:
3-4 lb. rump or other beef roast
1 (10.5 oz) can beef broth
1 (10.5 oz) can condensed French onion soup
1 (12 oz) can full-bodied beer
1/2 to 1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
French rolls
provolone cheese

Trim any excess fat from the roast. Place in the crockpot. Pour the beef broth, french onion soup, and beer over the roast. Add the garlic powder and Worcestershire sauce. Cook on low for about 7 to 8 hours, or until the beef shreds easily. Shred or thinly slice the beef as desired. Place the meat back in the crockpot with the cooking liquid and heat through.

Turn the oven to broil. Split the rolls and add meat as desired. Top with sliced provolone cheese. Place under the broiler until the cheese is just melted, about 1-2 minutes. Serve with the cooking liquid as au jus.

Leave a Reply

