Green Chile Mac & Cheese

green chile macaroni and cheese bite

Brrr…. I know I really should not be complaining, but we’ve had ourselves a cool spell here in Arizona. Below freezing at night folks. We have been covering our plants outside with every extra sheet in the house for a couple nights now. Probably looks kind of funny if you drive by our house. Nonetheless, I really don’t want to lose our new Meyer lemon tree to the cold!

The cooler turn in the weather has both of us craving comfort food. Enter this macaroni and cheese. In fact, my husband asked specifically for it. As far as mac and cheese goes, the hubbs is a baked mac and cheese guy. He loves the crunch of the bread crumb topping. I can go either way (truthfully, I’ll eat both), but if I had to pick, I am probably more of a stove-top gal. Just can’t get over the creaminess! In light of his request, I went the baked route this time. That and it let me use my new croquettes that I received for Christmas 🙂

green chile macaroni and cheese

green chile macaroni and cheese close

The recipe is from A Zesty Bite, and the whole allure of this recipe for us was the green chiles in the sauce. They completely make this dish. As written, the recipe is scaled to be more of a side dish, but for the two of us, it worked perfectly as a main dish. For me, the cheese sauce ended up pretty thick, although I think this may have been more my fault than anything else. My other thought was that the macaroni to cheese ratio seemed really high. It is really rich as written, and I think I’d add more macaroni for the same amount of cheese sauce next time. A quick note, be careful when browning the bread crumbs under the broiler. I toasted mine a little to far. I’d check on them every minute or so.

All of that said, this mac and cheese met all those comfort food notes. We really enjoyed it, and I am thinking this will be a repeat recipe in this house. Enjoy!

(Printable Recipe)

Green Chile Mac & Cheese
Adapted slightly from A Zesty Bite

Ingredients:
4 oz. whole wheat elbow macaroni noodles (I think you could even double this to 8oz)
3 qts. water plus salt
2 Tbsp. butter
2 Tbsp. flour
1-1/4 cup almond milk
1 Tbsp. non-fat plain Greek yogurt
1/2 tsp. paprika
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded (best results if you shred your own)
3/4 cup Monterey Jack cheese, shredded (best results if you shred your own)
1 (4 oz) can chopped green chiles
whole wheat Panko bread crumbs for topping

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In a large pot, bring the water to a boil. Add the noodles and cook for 6 minutes (al dente). Drain and rinse in cold water.

In a large skillet, melt the butter over low heat. Whisk in the flour and cook for 3-4 minutes. Slowly add the milk while whisking to avoid any clumps. Cook for about 5 minutes or until the sauce has thickened slightly (don’t let it get too thick). Add the Greek yogurt, paprika, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Stir in both cheeses and the green chiles. Mix until the cheese has melted and the sauce is smooth. Stir in the macaroni noodles until well coated.

Place in a casserole dish and sprinkle with Panko bread crumbs. Baking time will vary based on the size of your baking dish. For a large dish, bake for 25 minutes or until the cheese is bubbling at the sides. Individual serving dishes will need a shorter baking time. Mine was done at about 15 minutes. When the cheese is bubbling, it is ready. Switch the oven to low broil for 2-3 minutes to brown the bread crumbs.

One thought on “Green Chile Mac & Cheese

Leave a Reply

