Protein Trail Mix “Cookies”

trail mix protein cookies close

Due to our work schedules, we generally eat dinner pretty late (at least on most people’s schedules). By late, I really do mean late. It’s not unusual to sit down around 9 (or later some nights). This creates 2 problems for me. As you can imagine, no matter what time of year, I don’t have much natural light for photos around 9 PM. Second, I tend to get hungry sometime in the hours between lunch and dinner. I generally do pretty well if I’m still at work, but if I happen to be at home, all bets are off. I’ve been trying to plan “healthier” snacks for those times so I don’t end up attacking the Nutella jar with a spoon 🙂

These “cookies” are one of those healthier snack options. Not only are they a bit sweet, but they’re packed with ingredients that really do help keep me full until it’s time to eat. I ran across this recipe thanks to one of my co-residents from last year, but the original recipe comes from Peas and Thank You. Don’t be worried about the texture of the mixture after you add all the ingredients. It will seem crumbly. You’ll have to pack the cookies a little with your hands to form the balls, but they will come out of the oven in one piece. Promise. My cookies tend to stay pretty soft in the middle, but for whatever reason, Brooke’s form this nice crust when she bakes them. I’m actually jealous of her crunch, but they taste great either way.

trail mix protein bars before mixing dry ingredients

trail mix protein bars before baking

These also make a great “I’m craving something just a little bit sweet” dessert swap. Not that I would know. 🙂 Enjoy!

(Printable Recipe)

Protein Trail Mix “Cookies”
From Peas and Thank You

Ingredients:
3 Tbsp. ground flaxseed meal
3/4 cup. unsweetened vanilla almond milk
2 cups old-fashioned oats
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1/4 cup pepitas
1/4 cup chopped almonds
1/4 cup raisins
1/4 cup chocolate chips (calls for dark chocolate; I used milk chocolate)
1/2 cup vanilla protein powder
3 Tbsp. honey
3/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray a cookie sheet with nonstick spray and set aside.

In a small bowl, combine the ground flaxseed with the milk and set aside. In a large bowl, combine the remaining ingredients and mix to combine. Add the flaxseed mixture to the dry ingredients and stir until combined. To make the cookies, using hands or an ice cream scoop, pack the dough into balls. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the cookies start to brown on the top. Let cool completely on the pan before transferring to an airtight container to store.

Yield: 12-15 cookies

One thought on “Protein Trail Mix “Cookies”

Leave a Reply

