SRC: Pork Carnitas

pork carnitas in shells

After a break to allow everyone to enjoy December with their families, The Secret Recipe Club is back! Being in Group A, it’s been almost 2 months since I’ve posted with the group. Bring on 2013!

My blogger this month was Anne from Authentic Simplicity. Anne has a lot of ideas for a wide variety of recipes. I have made things from her site before, so I was excited to scope out a new recipe for SRC. Truthfully, it didn’t take me long. I couldn’t get past this pork carnitas recipe. How can you pass up a recipe the author states she makes almost every time she buys a pork roast? There are only bonus points for the fact that it’s a dump and cook recipe for the crockpot!

pork carnitas close

I stayed pretty true to the recipe, although I bought a relatively lean pork roast at the store, trimming off any large sections of fat at home before I cooked it. The only other thing I added was a pinch or so of red pepper flakes for just a bit of heat. I can tell you that this smelled SO GOOD when it was cooking. My husband even came in and asked what I was up to in the kitchen. For me, what really makes this meat is the cinnamon. A spice that I never would have added into this mix on my own. It is so good on this meat. We enjoyed the meat layered in baked taco shells, and I can tell you we will be making this again. Thanks Anne for a keeper recipe at this house!

(Printable Recipe)

Pork Carnitas
Adapted slightly from Authentic Simplicity

Ingredients:
3-4 lb. lean pork roast, large pieces of fat trimmed
1/2 onion, chopped
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp. cumin
2 tsp. dried cilantro
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. oregano
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. paprika
pinch red pepper flakes
2-4 bay leaves (I used 3)
2 cups low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth

Place the roast in the slow cooker. Pour the broth over the meat. Add the onion, garlic, and spices. Mix a little to combine. Cook on high for about 4-6 hours depending on the size of the roast. When the meat is done, it will shred easily with a fork. Shred the whole roast adding just a little cooking liquid back into the meat to keep it moist. Serve as desired. The meat can be used for nachos, enchiladas, tacos, tostadas, etc.

4 thoughts on “SRC: Pork Carnitas

  1. Sounds like a wonderfully flavored pork, especially with the little bit of your added heat, love when food has a little kick!

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my SRC entry: Creamy Mints.

    Lisa~~

Leave a Reply

