SMS: Mini Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Orange Cream Cheese Frosting

This week’s SMS was hosted by Julie at a Little Bit of Everything. With Easter quickly approaching, carrot cake definitely seemed like a timely choice. Thanks for hosting! The original recipe called for a layer cake with the orange cream cheese frosting. I ended up halving the recipe and making mini cupcakes mostly because I found these cute pastel colored muffin papers at the store 🙂

Other than halving the amounts, I stuck directly to the ingredients listed in the recipe. I’m sure many of us have our “go-to” carrot cake recipes, but I think that it’s fun every once and awhile to switch in a different one. I can’t speak for the cake as a whole, but the mini-cupcakes were definitely enjoyed around here. They were very moist and the orange flavors in the frosting seemed to be a great touch. Of course, how can you go wrong with bite-sized pieces of carrot cake slathered in cream cheese frosting?

Head over to the SMS blog to check out how the other bakers did! On another note, I got my book in the mail this week, so I’m excited to bake my way through!

12 thoughts on “SMS: Mini Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Orange Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Cute liners – very springy and fun 🙂 I think minis are a great choice here and yours look terrific with the dollop of cream cheese frosting. Glad you enjoyed them – this is definitely among my favorite SMS recipes.

  2. Hi Tessa, thanks for stopping by my site and welcome to Sweet Melissa Sundays! It's a fun group and the book is full of delicious recipes.Your cupcakes look great! I also loved the orange flavor with the carrot cake.

Leave a Reply

