Bananas Foster

YUM! This is one of those recipes that I’ve been meaning to try forever. I first had bananas foster two years ago in Belize and loved it. Ever since then, I’ve been meaning to try it at home and just never got around to it. I definitely should not have waited this long!

There are several different variations of this online. The recipe that I used can be found here at allrecipes.com. The recipe is pretty simple and comes together pretty quickly. The sauce was a little bit thin. I did let the mixture boil for about a minute or so before I added the bananas in hopes that it would thicken a little bit more. In the future, I may cook it just a little longer to get more of a caramel texture to the sauce. I would also recommend to let it cool for a few minutes (I know this is hard!) so that you have an actual ice cream topping and not ice cream soup 🙂 This should also help with the thickness of the sauce. Enjoy! I know we did!!

Bananas Foster
1/4 c. butter
2/3 c. brown sugar
3-1/2 Tbsp. rum (we used coconut rum)
1-1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
3 bananas, peeled and sliced lengthwise and crosswise
1/4 c. chopped walnuts (left out)
vanilla ice cream

In a large, deep skillet over medium heat, melt butter. Stir in sugar, rum, vanilla, and cinnamon. When mixture begins to bubble, stir in bananas and walnuts. Cook until bananas are hot, 1-2 minutes. Serve immediately over vanilla ice cream.
2 thoughts on “Bananas Foster

Leave a Reply

